German immigrants settled in our area of Texas in the mid 1800’s. Pieter Lex, a young stone mason, was one of those immigrants and he built a small stone house which was the beginning of Still Waters Ranch. After marrying Carolina “Lina” Pieper and beginning their family, he built a larger stone house in 1872 which is now a part of the Still Waters Ranch home for Bob and Sandy Mehall. Pieter’s barn is still in use as well as many stone walls and the kiln and cistern that he built. Pieter, Lina and their six children are buried in the ranch cemetery as well as several of their relatives and others.
Colonel Tausch and his children were also owners of the ranch and were responsible for several other buildings which are still in use today. Preserving and utilizing many of the historical features makes this ranch a very interesting and unique experience.
We love sharing this piece of God’s creation with our three children, their spouses and our twelve grandchildren as well as guests and visitors. Come to Still Waters Ranch and enjoy the sunsets and good times waiting here. Join us and explore, swim, hunt, and relax in a beautiful setting.